Week 10- Fiber Art Social Network

Before this week’s activity, I had never really though of the idea of a social network in real life. I always associated the term “social network” with the internet and social media. However, after thinking about it, I think that a social network applies to both in physical space, and cyberspace.

Dunbar’s Number definitely makes sense to me. I do not believe that a single individual has both the time and the emotional/ mental capacity to develop deep/ meaningful relationships with hundreds of people. In fact, I prefer keeping a close circle of 20 friends or less at a time.

In my opinion, having 1,000-5,000 friends of facebook does not mean much. I don’t think there is a way to have real friendships with every single friend on facebook.

The social network that we created in class made me think of how easily we connect with so many different people. It made me realize that the classmate conversations have been the most effective way to meet different people that we might have otherwise unwillingly ignored.

I prefer having close relationships with less than 20 people at a time. I think that each relationship requires time, and mutual effort. Therefore, I think I would not be able to keep a close relationship with more that 20 people at a time.

I prefer having “real” friends as opposed to facebook friends. Every significant/ meaningful relationship has began in real life. Therefore, I do not feel a need to have many friends on facebook. However, I do acknowledge that this may not be the case for everyone. I do not think it is impossible to develop meaningful/ strong relationships in cyberspace, I just haven’t experienced it myself.

Leave a Reply

